Summerland 

I am officially a resident of New Jersey.  

I am officially on my own.

I jumped without a safety net, and I came out on the other side relatively unscathed.  

Admittedly, I have mixed emotions about the whole ordeal.  Though I desperately love my job, the people therein, and my new place of residence…I am lacking friends (the best ones in the world, might I add), and the support system I’ve come to know and love.  It’s difficult to start over.  It’s probably the hardest and most daunting thing I’ve ever undertaken on my own…but I’ve done it.  

Every day that goes by, I am amazed by the changes I’ve undergone in the last year.  I went from passive bystander in my own life, to active participant, and I couldn’t be more pleased.  The differences are noticed by me daily, and this Thanksgiving (aka The Day of Indigenous Subjugation), I can honestly say I’ve never been more thankful.  Every day, every moment, is full of hope and promise and I am proud of who I am, as well as proud of who I one day will be, (as I happily live a life of constant improvement).  

There are some people I would like to acknowledge as the holiday season rapidly approaches:

Mercedes:  I love how we are able to lift one another up and help each other stand tall throughout adversity.  You are amazing, and wonderful,  and you are hands down one of the best friends I’ve ever had.  Keep waterboarding men with their own tears.  ❤️

Casey:  Dude, I couldn’t have kept it together this year without you.  You’re a fucking rockstar and I love you like a sister.  Best come visit me soon, cause I’m already having withdrawals.  🤘🏻

Joe:  Thank you for everything you’ve done for me.  Thank you for being there.  Thank you for being you.  

Anastasia, Suzanne, Aileen & Rich:  I love you all.  Work besties 4 lyfe!

Squab🍕:  I love you all, and I miss you like crazy!  You guys are my first real group of friends, and I cherish you all like whoa.  I’m going to come visit soon, and we’re going to Datz, bishes!  #fusionfries

As for the holidays…I couldn’t be more excited!  The Christmas season is bright, beautiful, and screams new beginnings…the lights, music, movies, feelings, decor…it’s everything to me.  This will be my first holiday alone, and though there will be fewer presents under the tree, there is more peace in my heart…and nothing feels quite like it.  

Be safe, be happy, be thankful always…not just once a year.  Have a wonderful holiday weekend, kids!  I love you all!  ❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

