You Say You Want A Revolution

So the wifi is out until Wednesday.  That means no Hulu, no Netflix, no streaming music from my phone, and no lengthy time on the interwebs.  WHAT THE FUCK AM I SUPPOSED TO DO UNTIL WEDNESDAY?!?!?  Insult to injury.  Insult.  To.  Injury.

I’ve been reading a lot.  Most notably “Rules For Radicals” by Saul Alinksy.  I’ve read this book countless times and it never ceases to inspire me.  His words (written 40+ years ago) still hold truth and power.  They’re the organizer’s primer.  They’re the backbone of revolution.  

And we all know that I’m in need of a revolution.  Internal.  External.  Lifestyle.  I’ve been working so hard to take control of my own life this year and not allow outside forces to continually break me down…but I’m seriously feeling a legitimate Job vibe these days (it’s a Bible reference, people…look it up…lol).  So it’s been really tough to find solid footing amongst the constant shift.  

But I’m getting there, day by day I’m getting there.  It hasn’t been fun or easy, but we’ve made some progress.  New dreams, new decisions, same love, same backbone.  I’m digging in my heels, embracing my stubborn nature and screaming to the heavens that I will never give up.  I will never back down.  Though there will be days that I struggle…I will never ever let go.  I will persevere.  And much like Gloria Gaynor, I will survive.

Those of you who’ve stuck with me through the last year…you’re the real MVP’s.  You keep reading, talking to me, following me on this mad mad mad mad mad mad journey through time and space.  Even if you never say a word, just knowing that you’re out there keeps me going.  Be it voyeurism or genuine caring, I salute you, dear reader.  I think we’ve both come a long way.  
  

Leave a Reply

