The Long and Winding Road…

My son and I were spending a few moments together last night after the second job…talking about school starting today and making sure he was all ready to go…when he said the strangest thing to me.  “Mom,” he said, “if at any point you want to get out of Florida, I’m ready.  We can go anywhere.”  Basically, I have been released from my promise not to move my son again during high school.  It’s funny how one feels less tethered when given permission to dream.

So here’s my dilemma:  Do I start looking for jobs in other parts of the US?  Do I stay where I am?  Where would I even go?  There are so many places I’d love to see, and maybe even immerse myself in…but I can’t be hasty…gotta be (at least moderately) level-headed about it.

((Momentary pause to spill 50% of a monster on my lap and the floor…ugh))

Personally I’d like to stay on the east coast for the time being…but Portland is always a potential option.  I feel like I haven’t seen enough of the east coast yet.  Bernie keeps telling me how rockstar Vermont is…my friend Lori used to tout the greatness of Rhode Island…and Rochester, NY is considered one of the best cities for single moms.  Realistically I could go anywhere…I have no pets, no small children, and one helluva need to live.

Here’s your chance to weigh in…I’d love to know your opinion on the matter.

Leave a Reply

