All About Me (Because it’s all about me)

Remember those homework assignments in grade school where you were asked to divulge all of your childhood demographics as well as your likes and dislikes?  I was thinking it was about time I took a good hard look at my own inner workings, quirks, and all around general info.  I shall lay myself bare to the masses…in the hopes of digging a little deeper and maybe (just maybe) gaining a little insight as well.

The Basics:

I was born in Fresno, California in a year I will neglect to mention (coincidentally this is where Fresca is made…see, this is a learning experience for both of us).

I am the consummate middle child…three older brothers (Kevin, Chad & Jason), and two younger sisters (Ashley & Brittany).

I went to a private school in California from Preschool through the 8th grade.  I went to Thomas Downey HS (the same alma mater as the widely-revered George Lucas).  I attended college at CSU Stanislaus.

I was the 8th grade Valedictorian.

I collect hippos, tattoo art (and art of other persuasions), ACTUAL tattoos (haha), kitsch, flamingos and various other weirdness.

I have 13 nieces and nephews: Cody, Victoria, Sarah, Chelsea, Coy, Amanda, Troy, Adrienne, Colin, Dani, Sadie, Braelon, and (last but not least) Barron.

I spent most of my life in a strange California town called Modesto.

Oh, and my name is Amy…lol

Quirks, Factoids & Intrinsic Elements (this is not a comprehensive list…trust me…lol): 

I love words…the way they feel, sound, the way they evoke emotion in myself and others.

I laugh constantly.  I believe this to be the only way to live.

I could watch “The Simpsons” non-stop, every day, for the rest of my life and never get bored.

I super enjoy saying weird things to kids.

If Melissa McCarthy, Tina Fey, Sylvia Plath, and Rebel Wilson were to all have one baby…and that baby were to come out looking like a hybrid of Garcia from “Criminal Minds” and Janine from “Ghostbusters”…that would, in fact, be me.

My whole goal in life is to be happy.

I love to read, but I don’t do it nearly often enough.

I *might* have an obsession with lipstick…but this has yet to be determined.

I do not love lightly…and I love with everything that I am.

Music is EVERYTHING

My penchant for song lyrics and random pop culture knowledge is why I never had any room in my brain for math.

Technically, I’m a genius…though not with regards to anything that matters (like math or science).

I can make duck calls using only my hands and mouth.  #stupidhumantrick

I believe the concept of “home” is a person (or people) and not a place.

I am intensely loyal.

I believe in fighting for what you believe in.

Body Positivity is incredibly important to me.  I want every women to be comfortable in their own skin and feel beautiful.  Everyone deserves to be confident.

Only through strength of will and brazen tenacity have I been able to thrive in life.

Amor Vincit Omnia (Love Conquers All) is a phrase I heartily embrace.

I will try on multiple pairs of panties until I find one that feels suitable for the day.

I hate lying and try to avoid it at all costs.

Music, art, and beauty in all forms has the ability to make me cry.

Chuck Palahniuk and Neil Gaiman are my favorite writers.

My son is my greatest accomplishment.

I have lived a life full of disappointment, mistakes, heartbreak, and pain…and I will never ever let that fact dull my sparkle.  I am whom I choose to be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

