Down Days

When it’s overcast outside and the rains come (as they often do), smiles tend to be few and far between.  It’s on days like these that I find myself to be the most introspective and reflective.  No one can be happy all of the time.  Needing to acknowledge and understand these feelings are paramount in the grieving process.  So here goes nothing…

I miss my husband.  I feel like there’s a hole in my heart and in my life.  If anything happens, good or bad, he’s always the first person I think to reach out to.  He’s been my best friend for so long and now everything’s changed.  I went from daily contact to not seeing him in a week.  I’ve never felt more lonely.  I miss our family.  

These feelings are valid, but I cannot…I will not let them rule me.  They are always a part of me, and I won’t deny that, but I also won’t let them take over my life.  I’m not alone.  I am not alone.  

The hardest thing to remember during a life change or crisis is: 

Keep Breathing

Keep Moving Forward

Smile, it’s good for you.

You are enough.

I’ll leave you with this last thought: if you actively smile for 30 seconds you will release enough endorphins to get you through the next 30 seconds, and so on and so forth.  So keep smiling, kids.  I know I’m going to, even if it just to get me through the next 30 seconds.  They add up, I promise.  

Leave a Reply

